Governor Abbott Declares 23 Texas Counties Disaster Areas

The National Weather Service's recent projection maps for Hurricane Marco shows it making an eastward turn toward the Texas Gulf Coast. These projections often change, but the Governor is taking no chances. On Sunday the Governor addressed upcoming severe weather. He declared all Texas coastal counties and Bexar County Disaster Areas. "In addition to the state disaster I'm declaring, I'm also requesting that the President declare a Federal Emergency for these 23 counties. This will help the state meet critical emergency protection requirements including emergency transportation and shelter."

The Governor adds Bexar county because that is the county that could be sheltering evacuees from our area. Category 1 Marco is expected to hit landfall 48 hours before Tropical Storm Laura.

Photo: Getty

Governor Abbott Declares 23 Counties State Disaster Areas

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content