Facebook’s privacy breaches and election interference scandals has users wanting to delete their profile immediately if not sooner.
Not so fast.
Previously, if you wanted to delete your Facebook profile, it would allow a 14-day grace period so you could change your mind. Now, it will take 30 days.
It’s been reported that the longer FB can keep people using it, the better for business.
Social Media Houston owner Cindy Pruitt said the increase it just to give you longer to think about deleting the account, in case you regret it within a couple of weeks.
"They see people will delete their profile, and then a couple of weeks later, they might have had a change of heart," said Pruitt.
Pruitt said when the profile is deleted, it’s no longer active, so she doesn’t know how those numbers would make advertising package incentives look better.
"But even if you did that at the 14-day mark, it still would be many days past that before all of your data that you had provided to them would be completely stripped out of the system. So, I wouldn't stress about it," Pruitt said.
There are other options if you need a break from Facebook and aren't ready to completely take the plunge.
Can temporarily disable your account for an indefinite time.
After the 30-day period is up, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve it.
However, it could take up to 90 days to fully delete all the images and posts.
She said her clients use social platforms to generate traffic and revenue, so they don't want to get rid of their accounts. If you need help boosting your social media profile, Pruitt said she can help you.