Abbott adds 3 counties to presidential disaster declaration

Gov. Greg Abbott has added three additional counties to the Federal Disaster Declaration previously granted by FEMA.

With the inclusion of Polk, Tyler and Walker, the total number of counties receiving assistance is now at 36. All three, immediately granted approval by FEMA, will now be eligible to receive federal assistance and hazard mitigation. Additional counties will be added as they meet federal requirements, Abbott said.

 He has already issued a State Disaster Declaration for 58 counties.

Parts of Walker County near the Trinity River and Lake Livingston, as well as Lake Conroe in the southwest portion of the county, are still dealing with flood conditions.

 Emergency Management officials in Tyler County recently posted a harrowing Facebook message, warning residents of imminent and deadly flooding. The emergency advisory ended with the words "GET OUT OR DIE!" along with a phone number for boat rescue.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content