Astros to induct first Hall of Fame class tonight

The Houston Astros continue their Hall of Fame weekend tonight as the Inaugural class is inducted before the game against the Seattle Mariners.

The first class includes Jeff Bagwell, Craig Biggio, Milo Hamilton, Nolan Ryan, J.R. Richard and Larry Dierker. The former Astros pitcher, broadcaster and coach tells KTRH it's truly an honor.

"I feel like it's kind of a validation of the franchise, that we've been around long enough, and we've won enough games, and been to the post-season enough to be a viable and successful franchise," Dierker said.

Dierker admits he wasn't sure he would get the call that he would be inducted this year with the other Astros greats that we mentioned.

"I had been a little concerned about the retired numbers because we have so many. I think this answers that question.

The ceremony starts at 5:20 tonight. The Astros continue their series with Seattle at 6:10. Coverage on Sports Talk 790 starts at 5. We will join the game in progress at 7 on KTRH.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content